As my internship goes on, I am still learning an immense amount. Week two was an exciting week at The Herald. I was able to shadow very diverse people, who a valuable to The Herald. On Monday morning I was with Katie Burford. Kaite is the city editor at the city desk. She is the one in charge of all the news that takes place mostly locally concerning the city. While I was with her, I helped a reporter develop a story about the winter storm we received last week. It was super fun, because they had me on the phone calling different people to get quotes.  I learned a lot about resources, and interviewing people over the phone.  It was neat to see some of my work published in the paper, a feeling that would be more profound at the end of the week when my article would be published. 
Below is the article.
http://www.durangoherald.com/article/20120320/NEWS01/703209931/-1/News01/Spring-to-show-winter-who
Later on that day, I was with Darryl Hunt. Darryl is one of the advertisers, and an accounting executive. We went downtown collecting ads from businesses and talking with store owners.  It was a very similar process to what I experienced while I was on the advertising crew for the AHS yearbook. Tuesday the 20th, both the people I was shadowing and my mentor were sick or out of town, therefore I took the day off to enjoy some last minute powder!Wednesday the 21st, in the morning, I was with Karla Sluis. Karla is the one who creates all the special sections. These include Durango Living, Winter and Summer guides, e.c.t.. I really enjoyed working with Karla. I am extremely fascinated with the magazine side of journalism, so it was valuable to see what goes into those.  It was also exciting because she asked me to be one of her free-lance writers for the special sections!  I am very excited to continue writing with the Herald once I leave.This was also the day Jessica came in to see me, and she also was added to her list of freelancers.  During the afternoon, I was with Cliff Vancura. Cliff is the main Design editors. He is the one who creates the cartoons for the paper, and also does the layouts for certain pages. During this shadow session, I was able to help design the layout of my article. I was able to see all the coordination it takes between all the writers, advertisers and designers to create a single section in a newspaper.  It was also very cool to see my article go through all the necessary stages before it is published.  Thursday the 22nd was a short and simple day for me. I only met with one person, and that was Josh Stephanson. Josh is the guy who keeps the Herald's website going.  Although there wasn't much he could really let me do, we did have an educated time anyways.  Last year Josh helped cover Cold Rush, therefore it was interesting to compare the two different experiences we had, and the articles. We also talked about the future of journalism. How the world of journalism in the further (if that is what I chose to pursue) is a totally different world then what anyone at the Herald walked into. Just that our culture and the way we consume media is changing. Which is 100% true. Therefore, I would like to extend my knowledge of multi-media, because this is a powerful source of media today and where it is headed. Although it is something new to me, I am not to far off with my previous knowledge of photography. I think that if I can learn about all the types of media consumption, then I can be headed in the right direction. Friday the 23rd. This was the BIG DAY! Friday was the day my article would be published in the Outdoor section.  I was a bit bummed, because I was in Grand Junction for tennis on the day my story hit the stands. Although, I wasn't there, I did get plenty of compliments on my work. It was so exciting to finally see all my hard work from the past couple weeks published and recognized. 



Leave a Reply.